Rant

Travelling: the good and the bad

Travel can seem both a great experience and an absolute hell hole that you can never seem to get out of. Let me explain what I mean.

Travelling is amazing in so many ways! You get to see famous landmarks only seen in your Geography or History textbooks at school; you get to meet so many lovely people that share the culture and religion of that country; you get to try so many different types of foods and drinks, as well as experiencing their culture and way of life. Like China, for example. You may think that Chinese food is mainly noodles and fried rice. You are correct, however, these are only some of the foods offered in this amazing country. They have everything ranging from yummy sweets to hot meat dumplings, which, by the way, are the most delicious thing you will ever try (unless you happen to be a vegetarian..). Because I went to China with my school, we went to all the amazing landmarks, eg. The Great Wall of China. Climbing it was the most amazing thing ever, especially when we’ve reached the top! The trip to China was definitely one of the most amazing adventures I’ve ever experienced!

There are, however, its negatives when it comes to travelling around the world. The number one thing that annoys me a lot is the bloody jetlag. It is terrible! Every time I visit my family in Russia, I want to sleep at two o’clock in the afternoon and then I wake up at three in the morning! And when I come back I don’t want to sleep until midnight and then I wake up at three and can’t sleep! Why can’t the world be all on the same time? Why does it have to have different time zones? If the world would be all on the same time, no one would ever be tired (if you know what I mean) and we would all just be happy. But no, the world has to be all in different time zones and other crap like that. Seriously, world, what is wrong with you? Can you not see the benefits of being on the same time with all the other countries? Then all of the programs that air in America or the UK would be on at the same time in Australia. D’:

Another bad thing about travel is flying and airport controls. Airports are nearly always crowded with more than a thousand people in one spot. When they are all swarming in, you just want to get out of the crowd and get onto the plane as quickly as possible. But the airport controls always manage to slow you down. For example, they are always telling you to take out your laptop. Obviously, if you’re in a hurry, you’d want to get through quickly. So you take out your laptop at a lightning speed, you go through the metal detector machine… and then… you are trying to get to the laptop, but there are about 50 other people trying to get to their stuff, so you’re just kind of stuck there, in between people… without your stuff. It wouldn’t be as much of a problem if there were more of those metal detectors. But no, the airport staff decided to build only one thing so that the people going through it would move as soon as possible… -_-

A great thing about long flights is that there are usually TVs, which means you can catch up on any movie or TV show or whatever else, whilst you are surviving the airplane food, turbulence and neighbours. I don’t mind people sitting next to me, in fact, I quite enjoy it. But when they are completely anti-social and they just stare at you from their seat while they are doing something that interests them… I just can’t stand it. And why do they always eye you out? Are they deliberately trying to find something wrong with you? And after they give you that look of, “What the hell is wrong with you?” you are searching for that thing that they are looking at. It is just so annoying! ><

Another thing that annoys me on planes are the toilets. Ok, I understand that you have to conserve space, but you could make the cubicle a tiny little bit bigger so that its occupants wouldn’t feel as claustrophobic  And also, every time you press the flush button, you never know when the water is going to flush, so you’re just standing there in front of the toilet seat with your ears plugged by your fingers, looking like an idiot, until the flush scares you to death and you leap back.

So yeah… these are just some of the things that I like and don’t like about travelling. I know that I have mostly mentioned the negative stuff, however, I think that we all find it easier to find something negative in everything. So, what I’m trying to say is… don’t focus so much on the bad stuff about travelling. It is mostly the plane ride and the airport control that you have to deal with. I know that I might be a bit hypocritical here, but just try to find good little things about being on a plane, like watching movies, listening to music or reading your favourite book and crying your eyes out, whilst other people death stare you… it is fun. 😀

MEOW! =^.^=

P.S. Comment down below about some suggestions for posts on this blog. I would really appreciate your opinions on these past few blogs as well. Should I do more “rant” type things or should I do something else? Leave a comment down below to let me know!! 😀

Leave a Reply

