Writing

Playing with the Devil Chapter 2 | Fiction Corner

Hello my wondrous cat people! Sorry for the wait, couldn’t get around to finishing the chapter last night, so I decided to take some more time with it, instead of rushing it all the time. I forgot to mention last week that an inspiration for this short story came from a book called, ‘The Writer’s Block’ by Jason Rekulak, which was bought in London. It has a lot of great exercises, as well as good writing tips, so I would highly recommend it! This isn’t sponsored, but I just wanted to mention that I got my idea from another source.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this chapter, let me know if you did! Next one will be coming in a fortnight’s time. Have a great weekend everyone, I love you all! ❤

~~~

Chapter 2

Have you ever heard whispers? Noises in your head? And I don’t mean the annoying ringing sound that you get in your ears nearly every time after some loud music. I mean proper voices… Voices that are not supposed to be there.

Today was supposed to be another normal day at college, another normal day where I won’t have to talk to anyone apart from the teachers and won’t be noticed by anyone. But today wasn’t one of those days. Today was something different… people started to stare at me. I was walking down the long locker corridor where all the students go to get their books or money for the school lunches. But every time I’d go to get my books, or get money for food, the usually filled space became mysteriously empty. But that wasn’t it, I heard someone behind me, shouting angrily in a deep voice, “Turn around, turn around or you will pay.” So I turned around thinking it was some kind of joke played by a student in my grade – “surprisingly” no one was there. As the corridor was still empty, I continued to make my way towards my locker, anxiously looking at the clock – it is very abnormal not to see any student around at Lunch Hour. Generally, there would be a lot of groups sitting in here, next to their lockers, blocking everyone else’s chances of getting to theirs. However, that was not the case, and, to be honest, it started to scare me. The voice appeared again, only this time it was much softer.

“Alex, turn around,” – a male voice, so familiar yet unrecognisable, sounded behind me. So I turned around again, not to my surprise, the hallways were still empty. But… I could’ve sworn that I’d smelled something… a very weak whiff of cologne. This time, the voice became a soft whisper, “Turn around…” after a short pause the voice added, “Please…” So I did, very slowly… This time, I could see a tall male whose dark brown hair was swooped to one side. He had a silver stud in his left ear, it suited him. For a moment, I thought it was Luc, the guy that I met in my dream. But there was something different about this guy. The smell, the hair and the clothes were the same, but his attitude changed. This guy’s eyes were light grey, his whole eye went completely black. This… thing had horns right on the top of his head, peaking from his hairline. But then later, I saw the strangest thing coming up from his back; it was a long, narrow tail, which had a pointy end. So then, he came up to me and lifted my chin up with his finger. Something sharp probed my chin, it was his fingernail.

“So naive… Why do you trust someone you hardly know? Haven’t your parents taught you about talking to strangers?” I didn’t answer. “How strange…” As he opened his mouth to talk, his pearl-white teeth were peaking through his mouth, however, his canines were the longest of them all. Was he..?

“How did you do this?”

“Do what? Oh, empty the hallways? Well, here’s the interesting part, sweet-pea… Come closer, I’ll let you in on a little secret,” very warily, I came up closer to him, as he leaned next to my ear and whispered, so only I could hear. At first, I thought it was a bit strange, seeming that there wasn’t anyone around us. However, suddenly, the hallways were starting to fill up again. His voice was so soft, almost angelic. “They were never empty,” the guy smirked and turned around, going past a huge crowd of people.

Suddenly, I felt other people bumping against me, almost knocking me over. Most of them kept yelling at me to move, but most decided not to notice. I looked around anxiously for that mysterious creature, but he was long gone and nowhere to be found. How could I imagine all of this? What is happening to me?

***

The entirety of the rest of my lessons, I spent thinking about a guy that didn’t exist. So, instead of doing assigned work, I decided to doodle the mystery man’s features. His horns, which were slightly below his brown hair; his clothes, which were exactly the same as Luc’s; I’ve even gone as far as drawing the colour and the shape of his eyes, ears, and everything else that I could think of. I wanted to find out how he did it. I wanted to see whether I really was going insane, or if this guy somehow existed, how he pulled off this crazy magic trick.

“Miss Harper? Aren’t you supposed to be working on with page 125 questions?” My History teacher noticed my lack of ‘writing’, as she came up to my desk and picked up my sketch. “What’s this? Drawing in class? I have to say, I’m slightly disappointed. You do know what you get for not doing class work, don’t you, miss Harper?” I decided not to look her in the eye, however, anywhere I looked, everyone’s gaze was centred at me. I felt really awkward and tried to keep my eyes down. Mrs. Brown couldn’t stand hearing nothing back, so she decided to save me the embarrassment and answer her own question instead, “See me after school, I’m sure you’ll be able to finish your work then.”

How could this be? In my entire life, I have never had an after-school-or-college detention. But, there’s a first time for everything, right? I couldn’t help but wonder how that one, possibly non-existent, guy changed my whole attitude completely from just one magic trick. I have to find out who this guy is…

***

My first experience of detention wasn’t extraordinary… As I have finished my History work that I was supposed to do in class, so I was just observing the rest of the students. Most of them have either tons of piercings or a weird hairstyle. And I’m not stereotyping. It is literally the weirdest experience of my life. That was until Luc showed up. He came in through the door about half an hour into the lesson, apologised for being late, and then glanced at me for a quick second. He smiled weakly and sat at the desk which was one row in front from where I was sitting. The teacher soon went out and told us that as soon as we finish the work, we can go home. However, I didn’t want to do that. Most of the students in the classroom already left, which left me and the mystery boy from my dream alone.

Well, that’s weird… Am I imagining this?” I kept thinking this over and over in my head, it still didn’t make sense.

“Hey,” Luc turned around and smiled at me, pulling away his dark brown fringe. I looked down at my book and pulled away mine. “I’m new here, what’s your name?”

“I’m sorry, have we met before?” I was outraged, how could he not know! I would’ve snapped my pencil in half if I was strong enough to do it. My strawberry blonde hair was getting in the way of my papers and it started to annoy me even more.

“No, but I’m sure we’ll get along just fine,” I didn’t have to look up to his eyes to see that Luc was reaching out his hand towards me. Soon, it touched my hair, as he gently pulled my fringe to one side. Surprisingly, it stayed in place. “That’s much better, because now I can see your beautiful green eyes,” Luc winked, smirking, and turned back around to face the board. Well, what can I say, the guy’s a charmer. But that doesn’t take away the fact that he has somehow appeared mysteriously in my dream, as well as made the hallways of my college empty. I didn’t want to stay in the room any longer, because if I will, I’ll do… something! I packed my work and left as quickly as I could, and I couldn’t help but feel his eyes drilling a dark hole into my skull. I could’ve sworn I heard him say, “I’ll be seeing you around very soon. It’s time we got to know each other,” but I thought that it was just another mind trick that was being played on me. So I left, not giving it much more thought, however, I soon found out how wrong I was to ignore it.

~~~

That’s it! Until next time! :3

MEOW! =^.^=

Leave a Reply

