Writing

Playing with the Devil Chapter 3 | Fiction Corner

Hello my lovely cat people!

Sorry for the delay, but this chapter is up and ready to go! Sorry that it’s a bit short, but if this gets enough support, I’ll try as hard as I can for you all to upload the next chapter tomorrow, as I haven’t started working on it just yet. I hope this can get some love, I worked hard on this. 🙂

~~~

Chapter 3

The day has come… The day of presents, cake and surprises… my birthday. I haven’t always liked birthdays much,, because they make me feel old. And since I always wanted to stay young, it didn’t really make me feel any better. The constant attention and surprises weren’t that great either, they were kind of scary. I always remember my mother throwing me a giant surprise party on the week of my birthday. And I always remember coming home from school and getting a huge fright from the “SURPRISE!” shout from all of my friends. But that was back when I actually had friends, back in Los Angeles. I remember my mum throwing me huge parties with lots of punch (non-alcoholic, of course) and clowns and other fun things. But now I live in the dorm rooms, so I can’t really throw parties, because I’d have to clean up the mess myself. Today is my 18th birthday and I’m going to spend it alone… This is going to be a great day!..

To be honest, I was afraid of coming out of my room. My “cell mate” has already left to do some private study in the library. I, however, was not committed to doing such an act. Today was the day when I didn’t want any unnecessary attention drawn to me. This is not only because it is my birthday, but also because it is my 18th birthday. It has become traditional in our college to ask someone “out” on their 18th and see what happens. Since I’m one of the quietest girls, unlike the others, I have no experience whatsoever in that area. So I’m going to feel threatened and alarmed and… who knows what else!

I heard a gentle knock on my door.

“Hello?” there was no answer. “You can come in, the door’s open,” as the door opened slowly, creaking, I saw a tall male figure standing in the middle of it, breathing heavily. As always, this guy preferred to wear black clothes: denim jeans and a denim shirt. However, he also wore a white T-shirt and red converses. As I recognised who this person was, I came in closer and touched him on the shoulder, “Luc? Are you okay?”

His head jerked up to look at mine, his eyes were pale grey and the rest of the space was pitch black. His teeth had become longer and sharper, which reminded me of a vampire.

“Hey, um… I like your contacts and your teeth… Did that take a lot of time?” Luc didn’t answer. I started rubbing my eyes in disbelief, I started to question whether I was dreaming. When I opened my eyes again, Luc was still there, breathing heavily. But when he looked up, his eyes were bright blue and his teeth were pearl white, not sharp. He was back to normal… and I was an idiot. “I am so sorry… I must’ve been an idiot to—“

“Don’t call yourself that!” Luc came in close to me for a hug. As he wrapped his arms around me suddenly, I didn’t know how to react or what to do. So instead of doing the same, I just patted him on the back and that was that… I didn’t even know what to call that. “You are everything but an idiot,” he smiled, putting a bit of loose hair behind my ear. “Anyway… I was told it is your birthday. And a very special one,” Luc smirked. Here’s the attention I’ve been afraid of.

“Yes… sadly,” there was a moment of silence. “Please don’t ask me to have sex with you, I’m not ready and—“ Luc started laughing, he was holding on to my shoulders and I could feel his body trembling. He stood there, at the door, smiling at me with the biggest grin on his face. I felt so awkward, my cheeks started to blush.

“You are so naive,” Luc grinned. At that moment, I had a strange sense of deja-vu… “I was just going to give you a little something, so I was hoping that you would receive it. Although, you can chuck it out if you don’t like it, I don’t mind,” at that moment, something cold fell into my hand. As Luc moved his hand away, I could see a long silver chain with a blue eye attached to it. I was confused, Luc saw that and came in closer, reaching out his hands to me, “May I?” I nodded and he gently took the necklace from my hand. I lifted my hair up, and as he was putting the jewellery around me, I could feel his warm hands on my neck. After Luc finished, he stared at it for a while, “Actually, I’ve changed my mind, you can’t give it back,” I was confused again, “It looks good on you,” Luc smiled and reached out one hand towards me. He put it behind my head and pulled in to kiss my forehead. His lips were warm and I could smell his cologne even more.

Luc started to head out of the door, “Happy birthday. I’ll see you in class, Alex,” he smiled and left.

In confidence, I put on my favourite brown cardigan and headed out to class. For the first time in a long time, I was ready and excited about what other things will happen on my first day of being 18. I felt confident and happy, Luc was definitely something and I couldn’t wait to find out more about him.

 ~~~

I love you all~! ❤

MEOW! =^.^=

P.S. Also, quick thank you for 50 followers! This is amazing! All the support I’ve been getting so far is incredible! A reminder, when I reach 100 followers, I’ll do a little giveaway for you all to thank you for the support and a huge milestone (for me)! I’m not entirely sure on the details yet, but it’ll be a challenge for you of some sort. Rules, etc, will be provided later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

