Uncategorized · Writing

Playing with the Devil Chapter 5 | Fiction Corner

Hello my lovely cat people!

So here’s another chapter and I hope you’ll give it some love. I hope you enjoy and I love you all~! ❤

MEOW! =^.^=

~~

Chapter 5

I feel like the start of spring break was the only thing that made me forget about that horrible nightmare. But I know that the minute I close my eyes, it will come back again…

I haven’t seen Luc since… my birthday, which was the 10th of May. It was a mixture of good and bad, of course, but that nightmare has haunted me since and I can’t seem to get rid of it. Luc has given me another gift that day… but it wasn’t the one that I wanted or treasured. He has scarred me and I don’t feel like talking to him anymore.

I am still at school, while almost everyone else is out with their parents or other relatives, or just friends. However, the one person that I don’t want here is Luc. I’ve been avoiding him for so long, for what feels like months. There is no escape from him, it’s as if he’s following me but from a distance. It’s a feeling that I can’t quite explain…

It’s a start of a new day, maybe things are going to change and I’m not going to be haunted by a nightmare or stalked by a guy who gave it to me. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself. The calendar states that today is the 25th of May, which makes it the fifteenth day of my “avoidance” mission. I want it to end, I really do, but I feel like I don’t have much of a choice. I have to avoid him, because he makes me scared, he makes me angry, upset, every single negative thing there is. And the worst thing about it is that I can’t escape it, no matter how hard I try. Every time I’m around him, I feel like I’m about to tear something… or someone, apart. I try to notice the good side, but every time I look at him after what happened on my birthday, all I see is darkness in his eyes. It’s like his blue eyes were completely filled up by the grey colour that I keep seeing. Of course, before, I would’ve thought that they are contacts. But now, I’m not so sure…

Going out of my room for breakfast felt so nerve-racking and dangerous, almost like I’m not even in the school anymore. I was trying to put my food onto the steel tray as fast as I could so that I ate my breakfast way before he showed up… But now, he knows my patterns, so when I went to sit down at my usual spot in the farthest table  in the corner, Luc stormed in and sat right next to me. He was eating an apple and grinning as if nothing had happened. Soon after he noticed that I was trying to avoid looking at him and was trying to turn and run away as far as I possibly could, he put his hand on top of mine.

“We need to talk,” that was just what I didn’t want to hear…

***

After breakfast, Lucifer and I went up to his room. Turns out, he hasn’t got family to go back to either, how ironic… I awkwardly sat down on his neatly done bed and still tried to avoid his gaze. But when he grabbed my chin lightly and turned my face towards him, I couldn’t look away. That’s when I realised that I missed the guy. As much as I wanted to truly hate him for emotionally damaging me for, probably, the rest of my life, looking at his blue-grey eyes made me weak at the knees. Luc noticed that and started to smirk.

“You really have missed me, haven’t you?” After that, I did something that I hadn’t done before – leaned on his shoulder and started crying. Luc was startled for a moment, but he then quickly wrapped his arms around me, the smell of his cologne was going to stay on my clothes, but I didn’t care. I just wanted to know what the hell was going on! “Have you really missed me that much?” I pulled away and was still balling my eyes out. Was this some kind of a sick joke to him? Why is he toying around with me like this?

“This isn’t funny, you know. You come up to me on my birthday, giving me some… necklace, which looks really creepy, by the way. And then you take me out of class and start staring at me, after which I get a nightmare which I’ve been having for the past 10 days! Do you know how scared I’ve been to fall asleep every night? Because I know that I will see all of those glass jars and limbs and that woman… The worst thing is, I can’t do anything about it, so you’d better have a pretty good explanation for me!”

I stood up and started staring at him. The smirk was completely wiped off his face and his gaze suddenly became serious. He was looking away from me, for the first time. What is he trying to do?

“That’s actually what I wanted to talk to you about, but… we haven’t exactly kept in close contact…” he stood up too. “So I figured I’d give you space and leave you be for a while, thinking that you’d start talking to me. But no luck there either. Have you thought to ask ME how I feel? Didn’t you think for one second that—“

I did something I shouldn’t have done. But once I have actually done it, it felt right, it felt like suddenly all the pieces of the puzzle connected and I can see the whole picture so clearly. I have been slowly falling in love with the mystery boy called Lucifer. The creepy, dark and flirty guy who looked totally gorgeous, I might add. So what’s the thing you do when you realise you love someone? Kiss them…

Luc was surprised, but then he became confident. His lips were so warm and soft, he was so gentle. It felt so right, but so wrong. I have been hating this guy for about 10 days, but now, one simple kiss solved everything. With the touch of the lips, a “war” has ended, peace has been established and everything seemed right. My head has never been clearer, I have never felt more alive.

After kissing him for, what felt like, an eternity, I pulled away. Luc was just smirking, but I felt so shy that I wanted to hide. He pulled me in for a hug and started playing with my hair.

“Why did you do that?” I pulled away slightly, but his arms were still around me. I looked up at his blue eyes.

“Because… I think I love you,” it felt wrong right after I said that, I pulled away completely and was on my way to going out of the door, when Luc suddenly blocked the entrance. I have never had a phobia before, but suddenly, I felt claustrophobic and I couldn’t breathe. His eyes were turning grey.

“I need to tell you something… I—“ my phone rang, perfect timing! My parents can pick just the right time to talk to me. Apologising briefly, I dashed out through the door and didn’t look back. He was still shouting my name, but I didn’t care anymore. This is the first time I’ve been so excited to talk to my parents.

~~~

 

Leave a Reply

