Writing

Playing with the Devil Chapter 6 | Fiction Corner

Hello my lovely cat people!!

Here’s the long-awaited chapter 6 of my short story. Hope you all enjoy and I love you all~! ❤

MEOW! =^.^=

~~

Chapter 6

 There are billions of stars that you can see out there in the night sky. And with all of those stars, you begin to wonder – is there such thing as another life? Are there more of us, but just evolved and smarter versions? Or are we worse and have destroyed almost every life there is out there? The truth is, we won’t know for sure until the future. But then, there is the question of, when IS the future? Before today, I didn’t think it would’ve been possible to meet an alien. But I guess I was wrong.

Luc and I were happily enjoying our time with each other. Out sudden relationship felt so right and happy that we felt that we were perfect together. You know how you sometimes get the feeling when you’re with the right person? It’s sort of like a hunch in the right direction. That is kind of what happened to us.

It has been a few weeks since that kiss. And almost every night after, we’d go out on dates. He’d take me to the movies, then we’d eat ice-cream and walk around parks in Boston, especially in Boston Public Gardens. One time, after we had a drink together, we went on the famous Swan Boat. Luc and I kept splashing each other with water. Once we got to the shore, we were so drenched that we had to squeeze out all of the water in our shirts. It’s funny how all “grown-ups” act like children sometimes. I remember the smell that was in the park that day, smell of coffee, cigarettes, sandwiches and trees. It was a good mix of everything, which made the experience even more special.

I had always been contemplating on whether there is evil inside of all of us. Sure, people always say that “there is good inside of everyone” and that we all should be given a second chance, but this experience that I had with Luc the other day made me think about that internal evil lurking inside of all of us. It began like any normal afternoon. Luc came up to my door at 11 o’clock sharp, as arranged the day before, to go to the movies together. I was wearing his necklace that he gave me on my birthday, I’ve been wearing it ever since we kissed… I looked up what an eye necklace is used for, it is considered a symbol of protection from bad things from happening. But what could possibly go wrong with the love of my life?.. Wait, did I really just say that, do I really love Luc? My feelings are so jumbled and unclear to me, as my brain tried to process so much information recently. It has started to take its effect and over the past few days I’ve been super tired. Of course, that didn’t stop us two love birds from cuddling and kissing each other every chance we get. Before, I would’ve thought it was gross or attention-seeking, but as I’ve recently discovered, it makes me feel so carefree, because I know that the only person that I’ll need acceptance from is Luc. His hair, and clothes, and eyes ,and everything is so perfect and he is the best thing that could’ve happened to me, undeniably. But, everyone has their secrets. And Luc has the darkest one by far…

The movie day was great. It was so simple and… nice. We watched superhero movies for a lot of the afternoon, munching on popcorn, laughing way too hard at all the corny and cliche jokes made, cried our eyes out at all the sad bits… Then he took me out for ice-cream and we ended up walking back to college through the Boston Gardens, like we normally do. Then, he sat me down on one bench near the lake and started to talk to me about strange things… Things he hasn’t talked about or emphasised before…

“What do you think of religion?” was the first question he asked me. I decided not to think anything of it, until I understood the real reason why he was asking all these questions.

“Well, in my opinion, there’s evil and there’s good. Everything else falls in between and is irrelevant,” his expression went from curious to stone cold. He looked upset and angry. He looked down at the ground and stopped holding my hand. “What’s wrong?”

“What if I told you…” his tone has started to become frustrated, too. His eyes changed colour from blue to grey, and at this point, I was fairly certain that he wasn’t wearing any contacts. He has started to scare me.

“You know you can tell me anything, right? No matter—“

“You don’t understand how hard it really is! None of you do! All of you humans are so pathetic and naive and….”

“Humans? Aren’t you one too?”

“That’s the thing, Alex! You all are so clueless about the world! You have no idea, do you?” I was so confused about what he was trying to say. He was getting angry at me for no reason, and it started to get to me. Luc noticed and stopped. “I’m sorry… I went overboard, didn’t I?”

“Just… will you please tell me what’s going on?”

“I don’t know how to begin… Although, I should start by saying that I”m not what you think I am…”

“A human?”

“… I’m the Devil.”

Suddenly, no matter how weird, strange or scary this was, it started to make sense. This is why he’s been acting weirdly in classes. This is why he was so frustrated and lost his temper so easily on so many occasions. I could now understand where he was coming from… But surely, this wasn’t the answer… Right?

 

Leave a Reply

