Playing with the Devil: Chapter 7 | Fiction Corner

Hello my lovely cat people!

Here’s the long awaited 7th instalment of the short story, I hope you all enjoy!. This one is a little more cheesy and romantic, but I hope you will like it either way. Next chapter is coming next week. 🙂

I love you all~! ❤
MEOW! =^.^=

~~

Chapter 7
As much as I would like to accept what Luc, or Cerberus, or whoever he is… I can’t. It has been on my mind for so long…
Since his, “reveal”, it has been so long since we’ve actually had a talk with each other… It’s crazy to think how much can change because of just one secret between people. Whenever I have tried talking to him, he just turned the other way and left as fast as he could. Every time I would have English with him, he would sit on the opposite end of me and wouldn’t even turn to face me. I’ve been thinking a lot about what he has said to me, maybe it was the way I reacted that scared him off, or maybe it was my inner feelings that he somehow sensed. I am not sure of how capable he is of controlling his powers, I don’t think even Luc is fully aware of his abilities either. But just talking to him would make me feel so much better! He won’t talk to me, let alone look at me, so I’m not even sure we’re together anymore…
Who knew that lying on your own bed and looking up at the ceiling can stimulate so many different thinking processes? Outside, it was a dark, cold and quiet night, just like in horror movies when something’s about to go wrong. My life feels like a horror movie, everything that could go wrong has done exactly that. I don’t even know what to do anymore, if only Luc was here.
No, why am I doing this? I have to take action! If Luc won’t talk to me, I will!
I got up out of bed and exited my room. Almost everyone was out partying for Halloween, so most of our dorm has been covered in fake cobwebs, pumpkins and ghosts for the past few weeks. It gave the girls a chance to really show off their bodies and dress as “sluts” for one night. The boys certainly didn’t have any objections… Halloween is also the night when a lot of the hook-ups happen. Not all of them are necessarily with strangers, but many moans and grunts are heard at about midnight when normal and boring people like me are trying to get their sleep.
As I approached Luc’s door, I stood there for a while. I didn’t want to know or go in, I was afraid that I might get a slammed door in my face. Instead, I just sat in front of it, leaning against his door. That way, I thought he wouldn’t have a chance of passing through me without talking. So I sat there, with the brilliant plan in mind, waiting for something to happen.
A couple of girls were approaching me; one dressed as a black cat, and another dressed as a bunny; and when they saw me sitting at the door, they simply laughed and started to whisper to each other. I didn’t even care, they can think whatever they want to! But what if they tell Luc that I was here? What if he thinks I’m a stalker or something? I stood up and decided to leave, writing a note on his door instead. I never thought of myself as weak, but today I was, I cannot stand up for myself or for what’s right. What am I doing?
As I finished writing the note, I turned around and was on my way back to the dorm. But then, I saw Luc, just there on the stairs that were going down to the party room. He was there by himself, so I decided to sit down next to him and join in.
“Hey…” Luc didn’t respond. “Can I… um… join you?” He didn’t respond again, so I just took that as a yes. As I sat down, he has moved away from me slightly, holding onto the metal railings. I looked down the stairs awkwardly and we sat there in silence for a while.
“So I know we haven’t talked in a while, but you just saying something to me would make this conversation a thousand times easier…” Luc wouldn’t even look at me. He was stubborn enough to continue looking at the metal bars and not blurt out a single word. “Look, I don’t know why you’re trying to protect me… If you wanted that, you would’ve never told me that you are… it. But looking over at the metal bars over there and not facing your fears makes you weak, so unless you start talking—“
“Look, I don’t know how to control it, okay?” Luc’s voice became so weak all of a sudden, I’ve realised that he was about to cry… “I just… When I imagine you getting hurt by whatever it is inside me, I just get so scared and frustrated I don’t want to see you. Do you know how hard it has been on me these past few months that we haven’t talked, even exchanged glances? Believe me, all I wanted was to talk to you, in fact, that was all I kept thinking about. But I’ve been trying to protect you, because you have no idea how strong he really is…”
For the first time in a few months, I did what I thought was right. I turned his head slightly to face me and kissed him. He responded and forgot all about his dark side for one moment. Maybe not all hope is lost.
“Look, you just need to tell me what’s going on, right from the start.” He stared at me blankly for a moment.
“Are you sure you’re going to be able to handle the whole truth?”
I stood up from my spot and grabbed his hand, we headed back to his room, kissing, and before entering, I took off the note from the door. Tonight was about us getting back together, getting back on track after what happened. The whole truth can wait… I can wait until tomorrow. But for now, we were just going to enjoy the moment that we have alone.

Can you please come see me? I can’t stand being alone anymore…

Leave a Reply

