Challenge · Writing

Day 11: A letter to a deceased (dead) person you wish you could talk to

Hello my lovely cat people!

Sorry this is late, fell asleep yesterday… :\ But anyway, hope you enjoy!

I love you all~! ❤

MEOW! =^.^=

P.S. In the letter, I refer to my great-grandfather as grandpa, and my great-grandmother as grandma. 

~~

Dear grandpa,

I wish you were still here with us. I miss you a lot, but not every day. It gets a bit easier to let you go, but your sudden death was horrible… And I didn’t even get to say goodbye.

It’s funny how you think of things you could have said to someone after they are gone. I could have said, “I love you” more, and I could have spent more time with you, but I didn’t. This is probably something that I regret the most. However, in saying that, I was happy to have typed up your memoir on my laptop, as I know that could be something to read over in the near future.

You were such a special person in my life. I remember when I was young, we would always play with each other, where I would pretend to be a teacher and you and grandma would be my students; or I would pretend to be a dog and you would be the owner. We would build forts out of pillows and would play together; we would watch TV and you would read me stories at night. You would tell me of the times you were at war and how you would teach your students. I was always so excited to spend time with you and every second I’d play with you I would be happy. I was also happy when you flew over all the way to Australia and stayed with us for your 90th birthday. You were such an inspiration to me and will forever remain in my heart. I just wish I could hug you again, or go for a walk with you, or read, or do anything.

It’s funny how you miss things or people after they are gone… I will always miss you, but a little less every year. I hope you are in a good place, wherever you are.

I love you, grandpa.

 

Leave a Reply

