Advice · Rant

Thoughts on the YouTube craziness…

Hello my lovely cat people!

I’m back!! I’m already into the holidays, but I haven’t really had time or the right mindset to blog… But now I’m ready and I hope you are too!

So I know that this post won’t relate to everyone, because I don’t know if any of you are “into” YouTube. But for those of you who are interested and do follow what is going on in the internet world, a few crazy things have been happening in the past month!..

So, to give you a brief overview of the events, a “famous” YouTuber – Sam Pepper – released a “prank” video, titled Fake Hand Ass Pinch Prank, a few weeks ago where he sexually harassed women by pinching their bums without them knowing. The day it was released, the whole of YouTube and Twitter exploded with rage, which is the normal reaction, in my opinion. He has since released 2 other videos, the second one titled the same, but 2/3 added on as well, where a woman would pinch men’s bums; and the third one in the series being the “reveal” where he has claimed that his prank was a social experiment and that the people who were being sexually harassed knew that everything was going to happen and that they were essentially actors. Since posting the first video, Sam Pepper has been banned from all the future YouTube conventions, such as VidCon and Playlist Live, as well as being banned from a popular YouTubers React show by the Fine Brothers.

Now, my thoughts on this are that it is great that so many people in the YouTube community have taken action to get this man off the internet. I’m really happy to see that this is causing such a major reaction, as I am sure other people are as well. But this is not the first time Sam has done this sort of thing. He has many other such “pranks” where he handcuffed women until they gave him a kiss, or he lassoed them until they had the same reaction. What really annoys me, or I guess what I really don’t understand, is why people haven’t done this earlier? Why has everyone left it until this year and this particular moment to take a stand against sexual harassment? Mind you, the other two videos mentioned have not been banned, but quite the opposite – they are two examples of his most viewed videos on his channel! What I think happened is that because the other popular YouTubers, such as Tyler Oakley, took a stand against him on Twitter and other social media, only then did people go, “Oh yeah, let’s actually do something about this guy…”

Since then, some victims of sexual assault from Sam Pepper have also shared their experiences online, which I think is really brave of them. But again, because Sam’s other harassment videos weren’t as publicised a couple of years ago, only now are these victims truly coming out of their shells! This to me is absolutely ridiculous and annoying beyond comprehension!

SEXUAL HARASSMENT IS NOT OKAY, PEOPLE! There is no excuse for this – none! It has to be dealt with there and then, not 2 years later when the damage has already been done.

Please take a stand on the day it happens, not when nothing can be fixed.

I love you all~! ❤

MEOW! =^.^=

Leave a Reply

