Challenge

A is for ‘A Little Life’

Hello my lovely cat people!

So as you may or may not know, I’m catching up on the April A-Z Challenge in August!!! But since August has 31 days and not 30, I needed to skip Monday this week (01/08) so that it would space out evenly across the rest of the month.

So, if you’re unfamiliar with the challenge, you have a letter of the alphabet for every day of April, apart from Sundays, and you write about whatever you want! That’s why I love this challenge so much – it gives you a fun reason to post nearly every day and get to know the blogging community just that little bit more. 🙂

So what will I be posting for this month?

I’ll try my best and post short stories as much as I can, as I have taken a creative writing class last semester and am having major withdrawals from not constantly keeping my fingers busy. That being said, if you have any suggestions or ideas, post them in the comments below – I would love to hear them! 😀

Anyway, let’s get on with the post, shall we? 😛

A book that I have been loving for quite a while now has been one written by Hanya Yanagihara, titled ‘A Little Life’. It is a fiction book, however, it is closer to real-life events than, say, Harry Potter or Twilight. It follows the lives of four people, all friends and sharing an appartment, who, essentially, go through life together. 😛 I haven’t read much of the book to tell you the real gist of it, however, the bits that I’ve read so far are just stunning. Yanagihara’s language is so flowing and unique, that the book gets you hooked within a few pages.

One word in particular that I’ll never forget from this book is ‘caterpillaring’. Yanagihara invented this verb to explain how slowly a character’s eyes were moving across the page as they were reading. I think it’s the most genious way to describe this. But I could very much be in awe of the author. 😛

Either way, if you would love to read a fiction book that is closer to non-fiction than anything else probably, I would highly recommend this. I am reading this book not so much for the story, as you could probably find a lot of books that have “four friends sharing a house and going through problems together”. But I’m much more interested and hooked by the language that is used by this very talented author.

So if you have time on your hands, ‘A Little Life’ is definitely worth a read!

That’s all from me for today, see you tomorrow for another post! I love you all~! ❤

MEOW! =^.^=

 

Leave a Reply

