J is for Jazz

Hello my lovely cat people!

Since we’re talking about music, I thought I would talk to you about one of my favourite genres – jazz.

I can’t exactly remember when my love for jazz started, but I always remembered that I loved listening to live music in cafes or restaurants. Since then, I also wanted to learn to play the saxophone (although that dream hasn’t come true yet 😛 ).

I have a few favourite jazz artists as well. I absolutely love Kendra Morris. Her album, ‘Banshee’, if I haven’t talked about it before, is spectacular. It’s exactly the kind of music I would picture listening to at a local cafe, chatting with my family and/or friends, and drinking coffee and laughing at each other’s jokes or stories. Her music just gives you this lovely cafe vibe, and if you’ve ever experienced that, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about. 😛 Some of my favourite songs are definitely ‘Waiting’, ‘Here’, and ‘Just One More’. Again, apologies if I have talked to you about this album before, but it is so worth a listen if you want to be instantly transported into a lovely, coffee-smelling atmosphere. And the music itself also has a very lovely progression and has a range of different jazz styles.

In terms of the more “classical jazz” artists, then I would definitely say Ray Charles, Frank Sinatra, and Nina Simone, all of whom have a lovely range of songs to choose from, and who have plenty of their songs covered on YouTube for your viewing/listening pleasure. (which I highly recommend checking out, by the way)

I don’t know how else to explain it, but whenever I’m in a bar, cafe, restaurant, or anything else with my friends now and the environment isn’t too crazy and packed with people (like clubs, for example), I would really love to hear a good jazz song. As for live jazz, I will definitely need to go to a festival or something here on the mainland.

Speaking of, there was a great jazz duo playing in the city centre where I live the other day, and I just stopped in the middle of the street and listened, smiling. Jazz always gave me that careless feeling – like all my problems go away as soon as I here it. And I know how cliche that sounds, but it’s the truth. 😛

Anywho, hope you enjoyed this post, because I certainly enjoyed writing it. 🙂 I’m off to listen to some jazz music now. Catch you all later.

I love you all~! ❤

MEOW! =^.^=

Leave a Reply

